Northeast Nebraskan Represented In Spring 2017 FLAGship Program

LINCOLN – Six individuals each have been awarded a scholarship from the Nebraska Corn Growers Association.

In a release from the Nebraska Corn Growers Association, on Tuesday, June 12 the Spring of 2017 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program (FLAGship) winners have been announced.

Following the Grower Services Committee’s review of the applications, six applicants were selected to receive a $2,000 scholarship following their completion of the fall semester in 2017.

There were five high school graduates and one, going to be sophomore, among the list.

The awardees are Emily Frenzen of Fullerton (sophomore at UNL), Grace McDonald of Phillips (Aurora HS – UNL), Heidi Borg of Allen (Wakefield HS – UNL), James McArtor of Grant (Perkins County HS – UNL), Jared Stander of Ashland (Ashland Greenwood HS – UNL) and Matthew Ortmeier of North Bend (North Bend Central HS – UNL).

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son/daughter of a NeCGA member. They must also be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in an agricultural related field at an in-state school.

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association mission is working to create and increase opportunities for Nebraska corn farmers through advocacy, education, partnerships and leadership development.

Chairman of the Grower Services Committee and Vice President of NeCGA, Dan Nerud said, “We are continually impressed by the quality of applications we have received for the FLAGship Program. The future of the corn industry, and agriculture in general, is in good hands with this next generation.”

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association will hold their annual meeting on December 19 in Grand Island. The six spring winners, four more from the winter will report to the board on how the scholarship helped them with their schooling as well as if they learned something new. The $2,000 scholarship will then be awarded to each recipient for the Fall of 2017.

For more information about the Nebraska Corn Growers Association and the Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program, visit or call 402-438-6459.

The next FLAGship Program application will come out following the December meeting sometime in January.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.