NSIC 2017 Spring All-Academic Team Made Up Of 30 Wayne State Athletes

WAYNE – Several Wayne State College student-athletes who competed in baseball, softball and women’s and men’s track and field have been placed on the NSIC 2017 Spring All-Academic Team.

There were 30 Wildcats on the list following an announcement from the league office in Burnsville, Minnesota Tuesday afternoon.

To be eligible for the NSIC Spring All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or better. The student-athlete must also have reached sophomore academic and athletic standing at the institution represented with one full year completed at that particular institution.

Three Wildcat teams had eight All-Academic selections – baseball, men’s track and field and women’s track and field – while softball saw six athletes receive All-Academic honors.

The following is a listing of Wayne State student-athletes named to the 2017 NSIC Spring All-Academic Team:


Cody Jenkins              Sr.       Englewood, Colo.

Aaron Krier                  Sr.       Aurelia, Iowa

Joey Lenihan               Sr.       Wayne, Neb.

Teague McFadden     Sr.       Loveland, Colo.

Spencer Johnson        Jr.        Centennial, Colo.

Dalton Smith               Jr.        Omaha, Neb.

Gabe Hoogers            So.       Sioux City, Iowa

Kyle Thompson           So.       Omaha, Neb.


Melanie Alyea             Sr.       Phelan, Calif.

Monique Alyea            Sr.       Phelan, Calif.

Rachel Shumaker       Jr.        Whittier, Calif.

Katelyn Wobken         Jr.        Scribner, Neb.

Abbie Hix                    So.       Wayne, Neb.

Riley Vanderveen       So.       Burlington, Wash.

Men’s Outdoor Track and Field:                            

Nicholas Fly                Sr.       Omaha, Neb.

Corbin Lehn                Sr.       Shelton, Neb.

Allen Arauz                 Jr.        Norfolk, Neb.

Derek Lahm                Jr.        Columbus, Neb.

Brandon Marker          Jr.        Springfield, Neb.

Kole Heller                  So.       Platte, S.D.

Matthew Nemec         So.       Hayward, Minn.

Richard Sweeney       So.       Blair, Neb.

Women’s Indoor Track and Field:                                     

Mary Alderson             Sr.       Fremont, Neb.

Samantha Kennedy    Sr.       Sutherland, Neb.

Melissa Kroll               Sr.       Dunlap, Iowa

Michaela Dendinger    Jr.        Coleridge, Neb.

Tessa Ives                  Jr.        Verdigre, Neb.

Kacie O’Connor          Jr.        Sundance, Wyo.

Siera Zach                  Jr.        Stanton, Neb.

Tia Jones                    So.       Elkhorn, Neb.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.