Wayne State Women’s 7-On-7 Rugby Sweet 16 Bound

WAYNE – The Wayne State College women’s club rugby program will take their three-time defending NSCRO 7-on-7 title into Pennsylvania later this month.

From Founders Field in Cheswick, Pennsylvania the Wayne State women’s rugby team will join 15 other 7-on-7 programs during the 2017 National Small College Rugby Organization Women’s National Championship.

Wayne State College is the top team in Pool A, joined alongside York College (PA), University of Rochester (NY) and College of William & Mary (VA).

The Wildcat women are the three-time defending 7’s champions (2014-16), while being crowned 15-on-15 champions back-to-back in 2012/2013 and recently in 2016.

Pool Play matches for WSC on Saturday, April 29 will be against William & Mary at 10 a.m., Rochester at 11:40 a.m. and York at 1:20 p.m. all on Field one.

Pool B: Colorado College, The Claremont Colleges (CA), Albright College (PA) and University of Findlay (OH).

Pool C: Lee University (TN), Mount St. Mary’s University (MD), Saint Mary’s College of CA and California University of Pennsylvania.

Pool D: Endicott College (MA), Simpson College (IA), Colgate University (NY) and Neumann University (PA).

Teams will then be re-seeded based on pool play for quarter-finals on Saturday and semi-finals on Sunday, April 30.

The championship round will be held at 1 p.m. and consolation match prior at 12:40 p.m.

During the spring of 2016, WSC defeated Colorado College 20-0.

NSCRO Women 7-on-7 schedule

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.